Atlantic 10

The Atlantic 10 conference is a collegiate athletic program where schools compete in NCAA Division I sports. Established in 1976 the conference was initially made up of eight schools and centre around men’s basketball only despite the wrestling and boxing pedigree. Today it has evolved into a 14 school, 21 sport league that is nationally recognized for excellence.

The participating schools are as follows. Davidson College, The University of Dayton, Duquesne University, Fordham University, George Mason University, The George Washington University, La Salle University, University of Massachusetts, University of Rhode Island, University of Richmond, St. Bonaventure University, Saint Joseph’s University, Saint Louis University and Virginia Commonwealth University. 

Athletic 10 strives to recognize academic accomplishments of its student-athletes. The Commissioner’s Honour Roll cites every student-athlete with a 3.5 grade point average or better. The conference consistently earns high marks earns high marks in the NCAA academic metrics. Student-athletes in the league have a graduation rate of 91 percent. This is higher than the national average which sits at 88.

During 2016-17, the conference recognized 3,582 student-athletes a record for the A-10. Each year the leagues sponsors pools all the sports to award the two stand out athletes. They also award 14 student-athletes with $70,000 in postgraduate scholarships – one from each campus.