Boxing Weight Classes: Explained

Boxing Weight Classes

The sport of boxing comprises various weight classes. As time has gone by, boxing organizations have added various boxing weight classes.

Here’s a breakdown of all of the professional boxing weight classes explained. Check out all of the boxing weight classes below and answers to common questions about the divisions.

How Many Boxing Weight Classes Are There?

Currently, 44 boxing weight classes are recognized by the 4 major governing bodies between men’s and women’s divisions. All of them have their own championship belt for their acknowledged weight classes.

  • Men’s Boxing Weight Classes: 17 
  • Men’s Tweener Boxing Divisions: 10
  • Women’s Boxing Divisions: 17

The Original 8 Boxing Weight Classes

When the sport of boxing was becoming organized, early rule makers agreed that weight classes must be added. Here are the original 8 boxing weight classes.

Weight ClassWeight in lbsWeight in kg
Light Heavyweight175lbs79.4kg

Heavyweight (+200 lbs/90.7 kg)

The heavyweight division was the first of the boxing weight classes with centuries of history. Originally, the heavyweight division was first marked at 160 lbs during the bare-knuckle era of boxing.

In London in 1909, the National Sporting Club in London increased the heavyweight limit to 168 lbs. At the same time, the state of New York in the US boosted the limit to 175 lbs.

The next change to the heavyweight limit was +190 lbs in 1979. This number was boosted for the last time in 2003 to the present weight limit of +200 lbs.

Light Heavyweight (175 lbs/79.4 kg)

Light Heavyweight
Men’s light heavyweight final at the 2023 European Games

The original light heavyweight class in boxing was first introduced in 1909 at a 168 lb limit. This number later changed to 175lbs in 1920, where the limit still currently stans

Middleweight (154 to 160 lbs/69.9 to 7.2 kg) 

Early forms of the middleweight divison sprouted up in the 1800s. The first official middleweight limit was marked at 154 lbs in 1909. Due to a US law called Walker’s Law, the limit was raised to 160 lbs.

Welterweight (140 to 147 lbs/ 63.5 to 66.7 kg)

Welterweight Boxing at the 2018 Summer Youth Olympics

The original welterweight division was set at 145 lbs in 1889. The NSC lowered it to 140 lbs in 1909, but Walker’s law raised it to 147 lbs.

Lightweight (130 to 135 lbs/59 61.2 kg)

The lightweight division has undergone various changes throughout its history. It was first marked at 160 lbs before being changed to 140 lbs in 1889.

As time passed, the lightweight division continued to go through transformations. Going down to 133 lbs in 1909 before moving up to 135 lbs in 1920.

Featherweight (122 to 126 lbs/55.3 to 57. kg)

During the 1840s, the featherweight division in boxing was set at 110 lbs. During the 1900s, the featherweight division would go from a limit between 122 to 126 lbs.

Bantamweight (115 to 118 lbs/52.2 to 53.5 kg)

London Prize Rules originally had the bantamweight division marked at a limit of 105 lbs. Governing bodies later changed the bantamweight division to between 115 to 118 lbs.

Flyweight (108 to 112 lbs/49 to 50.8 kg)

The flyweight division was first established in 1909. The weight limits have not changed.

Men’s Boxing Weight Classes (Updated)

All of the major boxing federations recognize seventeen men’s boxing weight classes. Check out the list below.

Weight ClassWeight in lbsWeight in kg
Junior Flyweight108lbs48.98kg
Junior Bantamweight115lbs52.16kg
Junior Featherweight (Super Bantamweight)122lbs55.33kg
Junior Lightweight (Super Featherweight)130lbs58.96kg
Junior Welterweight (Super Lightweight)140lbs63.50kg
Junior Middleweight (Super Welterweight or Light Middleweight)154lbs69.85kg
Super Middleweight168lbs76.20kg
Light Heavyweight175lbs79.37kg

Men’s Tweener Boxing Weight Classes

To fill the caps between each boxing weight classes, organizations have established what the call “Tweener Boxing Weight Classes.” Here’s a list of men’s tweener boxing weight classes recognized by some major boxing organizations.

Tweener Weight Class:Weight in lbs:Weight in kg:
Light Flyweight108lbs49kg
Super Flyweight112-115lbs50.8-52.2kg
Super Bantamweight118-122lbs53.5-55.3kg
Super Featherweight126-130lbs57.2-59kg
Light Welterweight135-140lbs61.2-63.5kg
Light Middleweight147-154lbs66.7-69.9kg
Super Middleweight160-168lbs72.6-76.2kg
BridgerweightUp to 224lbs101.6kg

Women’s Boxing Weight Classes

There are currently 17 women’s boxing weight classes recognized by the major boxing federations. Here is the full list of women’s boxing weight divisions.

Weight Class:Weight in lbs:Weight in kg:
Junior Flyweight108lbs48.98kg
Junior Bantamweight115lbs52.16kg
Junior Featherweight122lbs55.33kg
Junior Lightweight130lbs58.96kg
Junior Welterweight140lbs63.5kg
Junior Middleweight154lbs69.85kg
Super Middleweight168lbs76.2kg
Light Heavyweight175lbs79.37kg

What is the Rule For Weighing in Regarding Boxing Weight Classes?

In Boxing, a fighter must weigh in exactly at the agreed-upon weight class or below. The penalty for missing weight will vary depending on if it’s a normal or title fight.

The fighter will be deducted money from their purse if it’s a normal prize fight. If they miss weight by a large amount, the bout could be canceled, and they could face a suspension.

The penalty for missing weight for a title bout depends on which fighter misses weight. If a champion misses weight, they could get stripped of their title and receive a purse deduction.

A challenger who misses weight in a title fight can no longer win the title and a purse deduction. Even if they win the bout, they will not win the title.

Do All of the Boxing Organizations Have the Same Weight Classes?

The 5 major boxing organizations(WBA, WBC, IBF & WBO, The Ring) share the same normal boxing weight classes. However, not all of them share the same tweener and women’s divisions.

For example, only the WBC has a Bridgerton weight division.

What Was the Last Boxing Weight Class Added?

The Briderweight division was the last tween boxing weight class adopted by the WBC in 2020. This belt was named after a boy named Bridger Walker, who saved his sister from a dog attack. 

The WBC added this belt to fill the gap between their heavyweight and cruiserweight boxing weight divisions. 

Will There Be More Boxing Weight Classes

For now, none of the major boxing organizations have announced the creation of any new boxing weight classes. However, that doesn’t mean that plans could change in the future, and one of the governing bodies could create another weight division.

Similar Posts